not your typical bucket of chicken!

Today was an interesting kind of day, so I thought I’d try and reflect that in dinner… so I sort of went out of my comfort zone a touch and did a combination of breakfast and dinner in one!
A while ago I remember going through one of my food mags and seeing a write up on chicken and waffles… sounded a bit awkward to me, but thought maybe someday I’d try. Well that someday was today!
I started by marinating my chicken [I used boneless breasts from the butcher] for about six hours in a concoction of buttermilk, super spicy chili powder [I used a teaspoon, but base on your spice level] and salt [I saved some marinade separate for later].
Once done marinating, I dried off the chicken slightly, dipped them into flour that I seasoned [salt and pepper], back into some the extra buttermilk that I had saved from earlier, and then back into the flour… from there it was a light spanking to remove excess flour and then into the hot pot of oil for roughly ten to twelve minutes until browned and golden.
While the chicken was cooking, my Belgian waffle maker was getting a workout, turning out fluffy, golden pocketed squares of heaven!
To finish this dish, two waffles were the bedding for a chunky, crisp chicken breast… drizzled with maple syrup and some über-firey hot sauce!
Crisp chicken, light and airy waffles, sweet maple syrup and spicy hot sauce brought this dish all together… I definitely recommend giving this dish a shot!
Sweet and savory in one… who would say no?

at a low simmer…
-R

20130103-211330.jpg

20130103-211338.jpg

20130103-211348.jpg

20130103-211356.jpg

20130103-211430.jpg

20130103-211449.jpg

20130103-211454.jpg

20130103-211501.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

