pretty in pink…

As a precursor to a delicious meal, I decided to make a nice, delicate little appetizer to enjoy…
I gently sliced pink pearl apples, which are sweet and slightly tart. They have a gorgeous vibrant pink flesh and are available sparingly in one of my favorite gourmet markets for a very brief timeframe so I had to get my hands on some!!
These slices of beauty were layered on a grilled slice of sourdough bread, followed by some applewood smoked bacon, arugula and topped with extra sharp cheddar. Under the broiler for just a moment until melted and bubbly and it was time to slice into and devour!
Salty, crunchy, tart and sweet… a perfect combination in a perfect bite!!

at a low simmer…
-R

20120824-211337.jpg

20120824-211350.jpg

20120824-211402.jpg

20120824-211417.jpg

20120824-211430.jpg

20120824-211439.jpg

20120824-211449.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “pretty in pink…

  1. Emily says:

    This needs to be on my post competition meal,it looks amazing!

  2. inherchucks says:

    These are gorgeous! Where did you find these? I have never heard of them before…

    • Aren’t they breathtaking? I have to say… They taste as good as they look. I actually buy them at Dean&Deluca. They carry them for a brief time though, but I’m sure they are available online through other purveyors as well 🙂 Let me know if you can locate and what you think of them.

Leave a Reply

