bursting [literally] with flavor…

So tonight for dinner, I utilized the beautiful pint of heirloom tomatoes that arrived in my CSA basket! Once I noticed them peeking out at me, I couldn’t contain myself and had to sneak a taste of one of those plump little jewels! Wow the flavor was intense, almost candy-like… and what better way to enjoy them than in a garden fresh pasta dish!
I dry roasted the tomatoes and then tossed them into a pan with some garlic and olive oil until the tomatoes gently finished bursting, letting a ‘sauce’ develop. Into the sauce went some cooked whole wheat pasta, chopped basil leaves [from my garden], a pinch of crushed red pepper and some freshly grated pecorino romano… a vigorous stir and it was time to plate and garnish!
Sweet from the tomatoes, spicy from the crushed red pepper and slightly salty from the pecorino… This was such a light and delicious meal, there was practically nothing left for someone’s lunch tomorrow… I might be in trouble!!

at a low simmer…
-R

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “bursting [literally] with flavor…

  1. Tammy says:

    Tomato time is worth the wait, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

