sticky, salty and sweet… YUP it’s dessert

After sitting back and watching some Food Network television this afternoon, I was tempted to make a dessert that I haven’t made in quite a long time [probably since I last saw this episode]. It was a chocolate caramel pie with a graham cracker crust [well technically they are bars, but I prefer to make it into a pie and not squares]!

It’s pretty simple to make… graham crackers, butter, heavy cream, sugar, chocolate chips [I use bittersweet], espresso powder, fleur de sel [this is what I used], water and brown sugar.

After baking the graham cracker crust, it’s set aside to cool. While cooling, I made the caramel. I combined the cream, butter, sugar and water, and stirred until velvety. Next, the soon-to-be caramel needs to come to a boil until it hits 240 degrees. This concoction is then poured into the crust, cooled and then chilled in the freezer until slightly hardened.

Last, but certainly not least, I combined the chocolate chips and cream in a heatproof bowl and rested it over a pot of slightly boiling water. Everything is stirred until smooth, then I whisked in the espresso powder. Once combined, the chocolate is poured on top of the caramel and spread out evenly. The top then gets a nice sprinkle of the fleur de sel.

After chilling out for a while, it was time to cut into this sexy pie. Chocolatey, slightly briny from the salt and sticky and sweet from the caramel… Now I remember why I made this the first time!!!

at a low simmer…

-R

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

