tequila tuesday…

When I woke up this AM, I knew this day was going to be an exciting one for some reason… then after checking my emails and twitter feed, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that today is ‘National Tequila Day’! WOW was my rising thought ever coming true, and quicker than I could have hoped…

So in honor of this ‘holiday’, there was nothing better to do than think of the best drink idea to start off with! To be quite honest, I am a HUGE fan of a good margarita, minus the salted rim [hey it’s my own preference] and I started to recall a kick-ass concoction that I made not too long ago [also previously posted]… As luck would have it, I had ALL of the necessary ingredients to whip one up! One spicy margarita was on the horizon.

After enjoying that spicy, not to mention POTENT little guy I needed something cool and refreshing so a traditional lime margarita was up next. Nothing fancy, just some big limes that I juiced, agave nectar [or you can use simple syrup] and of course GOOD tequila. I put everything into a shaker and pour over ice. For a little something special, instead of a typical [and expected lime wheel], I created some ribbons of the zest and stirred it into the finished cocktail.

And for the finale, to go along with dinner a crisp, bubbly and electrifying blood orange margarita. Blood orange juice is mixed with tequila in a shaker and poured over ice. To bring some tingling to this drink, I added some pellegrino and stirred it right in. OK so you’re probably asking yourself, was dinner eaten yet?? NOPE, but I needed to do a taste-test to make sure it was good…

MMMM… this was a GREAT day!

at a low simmer…

-R

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

