purple beauties!

I was craving eggplant today! Perhaps it was the fact that I was running out of the caponata we had made, or maybe it was the gorgeous bounty that was available at the market? Regardless, it was a mission that would be accomplished today!
So after picking up two hefty, purple beauties it was time to decide on how to prepare them… I could make it as an addition to a summery pasta dish, in a vegetarian stir-fry, or my personal fave… FRIED! Well I think you all know where this is going; no not parm, but definitely something tasty. So I picked up some gorgeous brioche rolls from one of my favorite NYC based purveyors, as well as fresh mozz and roasted red peppers from my local Italian specialty food market!
Once home, it was time to slice, then dip and bread each sliver of eggplant. Into the fridge they all went to set up and then it was eventually time fry these bad boys… Of course some serious QC was required during the cooking process to make certain everything was seasoned wonderfully and absolutely delicious! [think more made it in my belly, than onto the awaiting tray]…
To serve… the brioche roll was opened gently, a slice of fresh mozz, a lettuce leaf, roasted red peppers, and lastly the star… two slices of the eggplant! Sweet from the roasted peppers, creamy thanks to the mozz, crunchy from the lettuce, as well as herbaceous from the breadcrumb.
Why do I see a midnight snack happening later…

at a low simmer…
-R

20120531-212331.jpg

20120531-212344.jpg

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

