pasta per due!!

So after a weekend full of Italian dishes, I decided to roll on with that theme… this morning I picked up some calamari and rock shrimp [instead of regular shrimp] for my take on a frito misto and thought a refreshing pasta dish would compliment this side very well.
For my pasta dish, I sautéed chopped garlic in some olive oil with crushed red pepper for a little heat, threw in diced tomatoes and let everything simmer down. I added in some white wine and reduced some more. Once the pasta was cooked, I added it directly from the water into the sauce, vigorously stirred and added some grated pec romano for an extra salty edge.
For the frito misto, I tossed the rock shrimp and calamari lightly in flour seasoned with salt and some cayenne [love that HEAT]. Into hot oil and good things started to happen!
Once everyone was finished it was time to head to the table [or in our case a twelve foot long by four foot wide island]…
Everything tastes as good as it smelled while cooking! Can’t wait to make dinner again tomorrow…

at a low simmer…
-R

20120326-211548.jpg

20120326-211558.jpg

20120326-211614.jpg

20120326-211626.jpg

20120326-211640.jpg

20120326-211651.jpg

20120326-211703.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “pasta per due!!

  1. Emily says:

    I can almost smell and taste the sauce! Yum

Leave a Reply

