Piggin’ out!

Finally after a full day of waiting, my dry rubbed pork roast was ready for its close-up! Yesterday, I made a dry rub of dry mustard, rosemary, garlic, salt, crushed red pepper and brown sugar. I rubbed my meat on both sides and gave it a sleeping pill till today…
So today I sautéed sliced fennel and onion, chopped celery and garlic. Once everything was softened, I added my braising liquids… organic apple juice, apple cider vinegar and some white wine. I brought everything to a low simmer and then added a thyme bundle, some bay leaves and of course the dry rubbed pork roasts. I nestled the pork roasts into the liquid, put a lid on the dutch oven and into the oven at 300* for between four and a half and five hours. I checked periodically for liquid and the last thirty minutes I uncovered to brown the top of the pork roasts.
Snugged on top of a fresh potato pancake and dinner was served… no knife needed with this meal! The pork literally fell apart as you plucked a piece with the fork. The tang from the vinegar and sweetness from the apple juice really offered a wonderful balance to the spice from the mustardy dry rub.
Wow I was so excited to try this after pulling out of the oven, that I unfortunately forgot to snap a picture, but hopefully everyone was able to visualize!

at a low simmer…
-R

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

