dining out, big city style…

Tonight my itch for a night out in good old NYC got the best of me! After great debate, I decided on trying August on Bleecker St. I had read about this restaurant on numerous occasions and their amazing mac & cheese, and rueben sandwich. The evening started with being seated in a very relaxing room with a outdoor decor feel, that’s unfortunately were the evening immediately took a bad turn. Our waitress arrived with a semi-forced smile and wanted our drink order even before I could get my jacket off my back. I ordered my trusty and what I consider fool-proof favorite drink, an old fashioned which arrived poorly made and with tons of granulated sugar that did not disolve properly. Strike one, but I was determined to make a go of it so I made do. Upon having my order taken I asked for the mac & cheese to only be told there was non tonight. Hmmmm, that was odd since the website says “available every evening after 5:30” and the reuben is only available during lunch… REALLY??? Strike two! So I ordered the tarte flambé, it arrived on a crispy flat dough and had very good flavor. Maybe there was hope for this dinner after all! I decided to try another appetizer dish, the margherita pizza, this arrived on the same crispy dough, but lacked serious flavor and the sauce was way to raw and acidic. Our server asked if we planned to order dinner, which I has already determined was not going to happen. When I said we would only like the check she cleared the table and walked away with out a word… Strike three! The check couldn’t have come quick enough!
Still hungry and unsatisfied, I made my way quickly to one of my tried and true favorites Centro Vinoteca, this small gem of a restaurant never fails to fill my belly with delicious dishes and yummy drinks. I ordered three appetizers: medjool dates stuffed with gorgonzola and wrapped in bacon, eggplant caponata and the appetizer special, a gargantuan stuffed artichoke. All the dishes were savored and enjoyed, washed down with the perfectly made old fashioned and best of all made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived till I waved goodbye and said “see you all soon”. A disastrous evening diverted!
Looking forward to my next trip to Centro!

at a low simmer…
-R

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

