little packages, big flavor…

So tonight I wanted something different for dinner. It wasn’t an easy decision, but as I looked around I saw pierogies sitting sadly by themselves… I thought this is a quick and easy meal to throw together, and certain to be delicious!
I sliced up one Spanish onion, as well as a bulb of fennel. Fennel is my go-to veg when I want to add a slight sweetness to a dish [and always like to keep one on hand]. After sautéing the onion and fennel, I started to brown the pierogies and stirred everything together to marry the flavors. The pierogies were crisp and hot, while the onions and fennel, soft and sweet! A small dollop of creme fraiche on the side and we were ready to dive in.
A perfect quick dish for any strapped for time couple or family!

at a low simmer…
-R

20120229-203657.jpg

20120229-203707.jpg

20120229-203719.jpg

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

