A twist on spaghetti and meatballs…

Surprise!! Traditional spaghetti and meatballs was given a ‘guru’ thumbprint… to change out the heavy, carb-laden pasta, I roasted up some gorgeous spaghetti squash, shredded it and plated it with a homemade tomato sauce and meatballs!
The spaghetti squash looks just like that, spaghetti once you shred it! I coated the spaghetti squash with olive oil, salt and crushed red. Tossed into the oven at 375* for an hour [or until fork tender] and that’s it! Let it slightly cool and shred away with two forks…
My meatballs are made with typical ingredients found in your everyday meatball, but I add some super-secret flavors that take mine way over the top into another division of meatballs!
Once I par-cooked my meatballs, I threw them into some homemade tomato sauce I made this afternoon! [I’ve talked about this homemade sauce in a past post]. I let the meatballs completely cook through, by simmering for a half hour in this delicious tomato sauce and once done, onto the plate they went.
The flavors were slightly sweet from the spaghetti squash, a bit spicy from the tomato sauce with light, moist and perfectly seasoned meatballs that rolled around the plate.
Till the next meal…

at a low simmer…
-R

20120219-192231.jpg

20120219-192249.jpg

20120219-192302.jpg

20120219-192320.jpg

20120219-192338.jpg

20120219-192354.jpg

20120219-192424.jpg

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

