Mmmmmm rub my [pork] belly!

So into the oven roughly five hours ago went my pork belly. I had come across a recipe that sounded pretty interesting and thought I’d give it a whirl. I seasoned the meat abundantly with salt and let it hang out in my refrigerator overnight. Today, I chopped up some carrots, celery, onion and garlic, fresh thyme, honey and white wine then tossed it all into a baking dish. I nestled my ‘belly’ into the dish on top of all of those wonderful flavors. Also being the ‘wild child cook’ I am, I reduced a sauce on the stovetop made up of a sherry wine, sugar, champagne vinegar, smashed garlic, peppercorns, coriander, fennel seed, cardamom and bay leaves. This sauce was supposed to be for the cooked ‘belly’ but I decided I wanted to change it up and have the additional flavors penetrate into the meat while it cooked. I definitely think it was a smart move! To get the ‘fat’ to crisp up, I put the broiler on for a few minutes and let everything get all hot and bothered…
As a side, I just made a simple brussel sprout that I boiled and drained, then stirred in some fresh grated pecorino. Salty, nutty and tangy from the cheese just elevated the flavors of the ‘sprouts’
Never be afraid to try preparing something that isn’t an everyday staple in your refrigerator… just because a name may sound scary, or even look odd doesn’t mean it’s an impossible feat… chances are you’ll be coming back for more and with this dish I know I sure will!

at a low simmer…
-R

20120130-204820.jpg

20120130-204835.jpg

20120130-204845.jpg

20120130-204859.jpg

Leave a Reply

