take-out!

So tonight for dinner I decided on one of my favorite guilty pleasures… Chinese take-out! There is something about a meal made out of everyday ingredients, cooked speedily in an oversized cast-iron ‘pan’ that seems impossible to replicate at a home kitchen… Yes it is possible to make fried rice, sesame chicken or lo mein dishes at home, however there is something vaguely missing that makes it taste just like ‘take-out’… perhaps a spice or flavoring component that is a hidden secret that we will never know… I for one though do not mind one bit, considering if I could make each dish exact then my guilty pleasure would vanish. I enjoy looking forward to diving into a container of fried rice and sesame chicken with a nice glass of wine to compliment, and ending that meal by sharing a fortune cookie with my little pups [they LOVE them]… Now that’s my idea of a great take-out dinner and a guilty pleasure… What’s yours…

at a low simmer…
-R

Leave a Reply

