where’s the toast!

So tonight instead of showing everyone what I made for dinner, I decided to mix it up and show what I made for tomorrow and this weekend’s breakfast… When I went to the market this week, I came across one of my absolute favorite fruits… the Meyer lemon. So naturally I thought to myself, you MUST buy and make Meyer lemon curd for this weekend!! I love spreading the curd onto a piece of toast or even on a slice of toasted pound cake… The Meyer lemon in my opinion has an almost tangerine-like scent and is just plain DELICIOUS! It’s not as acidic tasting as a regular lemon, but almost sweet in flavor. There are many uses for these little gems other than making curd… I love incorporating them into a cocktail, as well as adding them into savory dishes.

The recipe I use calls for five eggs, 1 1/3 cup of sugar, 1 1/2 sticks of butter [cut up], 3/4 cup of the Meyer lemon juice, a pinch of salt, as well as the zest. You incorporate all ingredients into a bowl minus the butter [that’s added in at the end] and whisk to incorporate… pour into a pan and over a medium heat and whisk until you notice the curd beginning to thicken… once thickened remove from the heat and add in the butter, two chunks at a time and continue to whisk until all is incorporated… that’s all there is to it!

***In the event you start to cook the egg, just strain the curd through a sieve to be sure it doesn’t end up in your final product***

at a low simmer…

-R

meyer lemons, farm fresh eggs, sugar, salt and butter...

and the whisking begins!

still whisking...

finally beginning to thicken!!

off the heat... whisking in the butter...

mmmm... so luxurious!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

