grill night!

Tonight I was feeling a bit carnivorous… so for dinner I decided to make steaks, along with a bitter greens salad… The steaks were marinated with olive oil, garlic, rosemary and crushed red pepper flakes. This marinade is one of my tried and true ‘go-to’s’ and offers just enough flavor, while not overpowering the natural flavors of the meat. Cooked to a perfect medium-well the steaks were juicy and tender! I made four steaks, and with the extra two I will slice the meat into a quick lunch or dinner salad for another day/night this week. The bitter greens salad is simple to prepare and made up of radicchio and endive with a homemade dressing… I topped it off with some shaved fennel, green olives stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and pecorino romano cheese…

As if dinner wasn’t intoxicating enough… for dessert, a decadent panna cotta with fresh berries. I used to make this dessert for many different family get-togethers, but then suddenly stopped. I don’t know why I stopped, but who can resist? It is like a sophisticated ‘adult pudding’… just recently with the holidays upon us i decided to start up again. I add some different flavors to mine and have elevated a traditional pana cotta into something divine…

Hope you were able to get a taste from just reading…

at a low simmer…

-R

chopping rosemary and garlic with my new mezzaluna!

garlic and rosemary...

prepping marinade...

marinating the steaks...

can't wait to taste... smells amazing!

using my indoor grill since it was a bit chilly outside... just a few more minutes...

getting ready to dive in!

panna cotta for dessert!

 

 

Leave a Reply

