pasta night…

It’s a new day, but more importantly a new year… everyone seems to make a resolution to lose weight, be nicer to others or to give up some other type of vice. I am all for the ‘losing weight’ aspect to be honest, however refuse to give up the enjoyment cooking offers me. When I cook, I portion out what I prepare so it can last into a meal the next day for lunch or even be a supporting part of another dinner…

New Years Day dinner…

So I decided to make a full-on dinner, rather than taking the day off and getting take-out…

For dinner… fettuccine pasta with a spicy pancetta-based homemade tomato sauce. I love making tomato sauce from scratch and find a satisfying element of creating something so delicious out of simple, on-hand ingredients!! I have taken a Sicilian family recipe and put my own little spin on it, and it wows every time… this time I added some rendered pancetta into the base and it was incredible! There was a richer, almost smokey flavor from the pancetta and red pepper flakes offered a wonderful addition of heat…

Only a trip to the market and an empty cart will yield what appears on the table each week… stay tuned…

at a low simmer…

-R

pancetta in its rendering...

starting to crisp up nicely!!

the sauce now incorporated with the pancetta...

fettuccine added into the sauce!

fettuccine and sauce becoming one...

plated with just a touch of pecorino romano... can't wait to taste!

Leave a Reply

